A Terrifying Trip Into ‘What If’

I’m inaugurating a somewhat new direction here today … sharing not only information about my own books but info on other authors and their books. It’s a “pay forward” kind of thing I’ve wanted to do for a while, but I wanted to wait until I had a better handle on how to maximize  my blogs.

Well … I’m still not where I want to be on the technical stuff. But I’m jumping out anyway with what I cando. So … today … my first “official” book review on a blog – and its for a book I enjoyed because of the Fear Factor … L.M. Boelz’  Syeribus, Creatures of the Night …

 Is there any child who isn’t, at some point, afraid of the dark? Who doesn’t, at some time, harbor a terror of the Things that lurk in the closet or hide under the bed?

Eventually, most of us grow out of those night-terrors. We laugh at our fears, peer under our beds at … nothing more frightening than dust-bunnies or, at worst, boxes of accumulated possessions that we have nowhere else to store.

But …

What if our fears have basis in reality? What if there are indeed creatures that lurk under our beds, waiting for that moment when the lights go out and we are helplessly locked in sleep …

Welcome to the world of Syeribus, Creatures of the Night!

I have given this book 4 stars because of some editing issues, but the story itself, the premise, is 5-star worthy. Author L.M. Boelz does a wonderful job of building on the fear that lurks in our subconscious – the fear that – when we are at our most vulnerable – we are not alone.

She also provides some beautifully on-target descriptions, and I love authors who can weave spells with their words.

Without giving away the plot, the story is about a group of children who discover that the “bogieman” indeed exists.

Let me add, in my opinion, this isn’t a book for children! It is a book for those who love tales of terror, tales of the supernatural – a book for people who enjoy a story that will leave you with shivers along your spine, and that doesn’t involve (so far as I can tell) vampires or werewolves!

Two caveats: First, the story builds slowly, so don’t expect to be immersed immediately in the night-terror. Boelz does, however, have a definite talent for building tension. The book, for me, was a page-turner.

Second, the ending is a cliff-hanger. If you want to know what’s going to happen next – You have to get the next book in the trilogy. Which I intend to do.

About plblairportals

I'm a native of Tyler, Texas, formerly of Rockport and Corpus Christi - setting for my Portals books - before moving to Sheridan, WY. A newspaper reporter with more than 30 years' experience, I started my first Portals novel (Shadow Path) in 2006. Four of my fantasy/detective novels have been published to date, more are in the works. I share my life with three dogs and a cat - all rescues - read voraciously and research Thoroughbred and American Quarter Horse pedigrees as a hobby.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Terrifying Trip Into ‘What If’

  1. Great post PL, oh so many books to read

    Ch’kara

Leave a Reply

