Heading to Worldcon – I Hope

If I can make one SF/fantasy convention next year, I want it to be Worldcon 2013 in San Antonio, Texas. I’m a “supporting member” of LoneStarCon3 – by virtue of having donated to efforts a couple of years back when San Antonio was still only dreaming of getting the 2013 event. It’s nice to see that my small contribution – coupled with the contributions and hard work of a bunch of other folks – brought the dream to pass.

Now … I want to enjoy the fruits of all that effort. I want to get to Worldcon next August!

Why? Lots of reasons. First, ’cause I love SF/fantasy conventions, and the Worldcon is THE convention to attend! Five days of fun, special programs, vendors – lots and lots of vendors – and a chance to meet some of The Really Big Names in science fiction and fantasy.

Second … As a native Texan, transplanted to Wyoming, Worldcon 2013 is a great excuse to get back to my home state for a while. And San Antonio – home to The Alamo, Sea World and lots and lots of really good restaurants (yeah, I’m a total foodaholic) – is a great venue!

Third … I write fantasy/detective novels – my Portals series – so I harbor hopes of not only gleaning writing/promoting tips from those more experienced than I, but of maybe … just maybe … picking up a few readers/fans for my own books. I’ve already fired off an email to the Worldcon folks, asking if there’s a chance I could be a guest panelist, participate (maybe) in readings or book signings …

Fourth … Because … well … it’s the Worldcon! I’ve been to one other Worldcon, the one in Denver in 2008, and had a total blast! I want to experience it again.

Which is reason enough.

 

You can win a free copy of one of my ebooks. Just leave a comment here, and you’re automatically entered in an end-of-the-month drawing for a digital copy of one of my Portals books – your choice.

About plblairportals

I'm a native of Tyler, Texas, formerly of Rockport and Corpus Christi - setting for my Portals books - before moving to Sheridan, WY. A newspaper reporter with more than 30 years' experience, I started my first Portals novel (Shadow Path) in 2006. Four of my fantasy/detective novels have been published to date, more are in the works. I share my life with three dogs and a cat - all rescues - read voraciously and research Thoroughbred and American Quarter Horse pedigrees as a hobby.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heading to Worldcon – I Hope

  1. Sounds like fun, I’ve never been to a convention

    • I’ve been to a couple down in Texas – Dallas and Houston. They are great fun, and they give you a chance, as a writer, to meet and mingle with people who can become not only readers but good friends.

Leave a Reply

