How a Serial Killer Took Over My Life

 All of my Portals books are based on creatures that actually exist in our own folklore and mythology. I just … sort of … add my own twist to them now and then.

That’s what happened with the Deathtalker – the title villain of the third book in my series. There’s this creature in Irish folklore – the Lovetalker. This being always took the guise of a handsome young man, and it traveled from village to village, seducing young girls – having its way with them, as the country folk would say.

Then it would be on its way, and the girl would invariably pine away and die from loneliness and sorrow.

The Lovetalker seems to have had no motivation for its actions, other than the gratification of its own desires.

Then I thought … What if one of these creatures set out to deliberately kill young girls so it could feed on their life force? A serial killer … who would use Magic to trick the woman into committing suicide. And – as she’s dying – the Lovetalker is close by, unseen by her, but eagerly drinking in the life force that’s ebbing away from his victim.

So he becomes a kind of vampire. A psychic vampire.

The Deathtalker was born in my mind.

Deathtalker – set to be released next month as an ebook – originally was Book 4 in my series, not Book 3. I was already at work on “Book 3” when the Deathtalker barged his way into my thoughts.

I tried to move him aside. “Let me finish this book,” I told him. “Then it’ll be your turn.”

He didn’t want to wait.

I’d sit down to work on the then-current manuscript, and HE would be there instead, lurking in the shadows.
“Let me show you what I can do,” he’d whisper. “Let me show you my powers …”

Whole scenes would flood my thoughts. “No!” I’d protest. “Wait!”

But he wouldn’t wait. He emerged from the shadows. He took over my waking thoughts. My dreams. I couldn’t concentrate on the work currently in progress. The Deathtalker kept intruding.

Finally I surrendered. Called my publisher. “The book I’m working on,” I said.

“Yes?” she asked.

“I’m putting it on a backburner. I’ve got this idea for a new book.” I told her – a little bit – about the Deathtalker.

“Okay,” she said. “Go for it.”

I love my publisher!

So that’s the story behind my story of a serial killer/psychic vampire who poses new challenges for Corpus Christi, Texas, police detectives Kat Morales, Tevis Mac Leod and their allies in Book 3 of my series. Coming soon – around Halloween – as an ebook.

I hope you’ll like it!

 

I’m giving away an e-copy of – winner’s choice – Shadow Path or Stormcaller (books 1 and 2 in my series) at the end of this month. All you have to do is leave a comment here, and you’ll be in the drawing for the giveaway on Sept. 30.

About plblairportals

I'm a native of Tyler, Texas, formerly of Rockport and Corpus Christi - setting for my Portals books - before moving to Sheridan, WY. A newspaper reporter with more than 30 years' experience, I started my first Portals novel (Shadow Path) in 2006. Four of my fantasy/detective novels have been published to date, more are in the works. I share my life with three dogs and a cat - all rescues - read voraciously and research Thoroughbred and American Quarter Horse pedigrees as a hobby.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

